

1250 Connecticut Ave. NW, 7th floor Washington, D.C. 20036 Phone: 202-261-6543 | MMTConline.org

June 13, 2023

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Chairwoman U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation Russell Senate Office Building, Suite 254 Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairwoman Cantwell:

RE: Nominations of Anna Gomez, Brendan Carr, and Geoffrey Starks to the Federal Communications Commission

MMTC, NABOB, NNPA, and the U.S. Black Chambers are delighted that the Administration has three outstanding candidates for the FCC. They certainly are among the most qualified nominees ever to come before your committee, and we are pleased to heartily endorse their nominations.

Seldom do members of the U.S. Senate have the opportunity to consider administrative agency nominees as qualified, fairminded, and universally respected as Anna Gomez, Brendan Carr, and Geoffrey Starks.

In addition to having extraordinary telecom law and policy backgrounds, these nominees are universally well liked and deeply respected by their peers in media, telecom, and internet regulation. All three nominees deserve to be confirmed expeditiously and unanimously.

Several high-profile items await consideration by a five-member Commission, including the digital divide, mapping, the ACP rollout, equal employment opportunity, multilingual emergency broadcasting, FM booster geo-targeting, minority and women's media ownership, and equal procurement opportunity. Thus, it's especially essential that the confirmation process be expedited. We pray that you will do whatever you can to make that possible.

Sincerely,

Robert Branson President and CEO David Honig President Emeritus and Senior Advisor Multicultural Media, Telecom & Internet Council James Winston President and CEO National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters Dr. Benjamin Chavis President and CEO National Newspaper Publishers Association Ron Busby, Sr. President and CEO U.S. Black Chambers